Learning To Ride


learn-to-ride


Whether your considering the purchase of or have already purchased a motor scooter their are certain things you must know.


One is that any size motor scooter, in Florida, is classified as a motorcycle and therefore is lawfully treated as such. Because Florida treats them all as motor vehicles a drivers license is required. If the motor scooter (motorcycle) has an engine displacement of 50 cubic centimeters or larger you are required to posses a motorcycle endorsement as a part of your drivers license. Many motor scooters are labeled as 50cc but are technically below that., ie 49.6 or 49.7cc. This enables the operation of these scooters with only a standard Class E drivers license, no endorsement is required.

Obtaining a motorcycle endorsement is not difficult, it just requires a little formal training. This training can be beneficial to all  riders no matter what size the scooter (motorcycle) is.

The second  is that Florida law does not require you to wear a helmet wile riding your scooter (motorcycle) providing you meet a few requirements. You must be 21 years of age or older. You must posses at least $10,000.00 in personal medical benefits and be able to provide proof of this coverage to a trooper or police officer should you be asked. (see link below)

The third is that a motor scooter (motorcycle) can be very dangerous. It can cause you serious injury or even death if not operated responsibly.


The links below will help you become more familiar with the motorcycle endorsement process and further pages on this site will provide you with safety tips, videos and links to riding schools in an effort to help make you a better, safer and more responsible rider.

At Tropic Powersports your safety is our number one priority.


Links:


FLORIDA HELMET LAW. LEGAL OPINION FROM D.H.S.M.V.





FLORIDA MOTORCYCLE HANDBOOK. SPANISH VERSION 

TAKE A PRACTICE TEST